CUREE Organization

CUREE Past Presidents

Over the course of its 28 year history, CUREE had the honor of having many distinguished figures in the field of Earthquake Engineering research serve in the role as president of the organization. Professor Wilfred Iwan of the California Institute of Technology, who was instrumental in the founding of the organization when it began as the California Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering, was the first to serve in this role.

A. Whittaker photo Andrew Whittaker (2005-2011)

Dr. Whittaker is Professor and Chair in the Department of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering at the University at Buffalo (UB) and is Director of the NSF-funded NEES facility that is housed in the Department. As President of the Consortium of Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering, he was instrumental in helping turnaround and lead CUREE into a successful third decade of existence in the ever changing earthquake engineering landscape.

Dr. Whittaker led the development of numerous multi-campus, multidisciplinary proposals including the recently funded, $30M USD NEHRP Consultants Joint Venture, which had originated as a joint venture between CUREE and the Applied Technology Council. He developed and now leads the University of Buffalo involvement in three Indefinite Delivery Indefinite Quantity (IDIQ) contracts with US federal agencies on topics related to blast engineering and infrastructure protection; the lead organizations for the IDIQ contracts are CUBRC and Black and Veatch. Dr. Whittaker served as a member of the Board of Directors for the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI) from 2008-2010, and currently serves on the Board of Directors for the World Seismic Safety Initiative (WSSI) and the Advisory Committee of the Southern California Earthquake Center.


Organizational Links

• CUREE staff and associates
• Board of Directors
• Member Universities
• Past Presidents
• Bylaws