CUREE Organization

CUREE Past Presidents

Over the course of its 28 year history, CUREE had the honor of having many distinguished figures in the field of Earthquake Engineering research serve in the role as president of the organization. Professor Wilfred Iwan of the California Institute of Technology, who was instrumental in the founding of the organization when it began as the California Universities for Research in Earthquake Engineering, was the first to serve in this role.

R. Leon photo Roberto Leon - Georgia Tech (2003-2004)

Roberto T. Leon is a professor in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research interests center on dynamic behavior and design of structures with partially restrained composite connections, composite floors and floor systems, bond of reinforcement under cyclic loads, testing of full-scale and model structures in the laboratory, and field instrumentation of structures.

His research includes extensive experience with seismic performance of steel systems, with emphasis on bolted connections and flexible framing systems, and original research on performance of composite joist floor systems and trussed girder systems.

He chaired the Building Seismic Safety Council (BSSC) TS11 (Composite Construction in Steel and Concrete) and the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) TC-5 Composite Design. He is also member of the AISC Specification Committee, the AISC Seismic Design Committee, the AISC Load, Analysis and Systems Committee, and the BSSC Provisions Update Committee. He is a registered professional engineer in Minnesota, the co-author of a book on composite construction, a non-technical book on bridges and tunnels, and is the author and co-author of over 50 articles in refereed journals.

His honors and awards include the ASCE Norman Medal (2000); ASCE State-of-the-Art Award (1996, 2000); AISC T.R. Higgins Award, 1993; and the ASCE E. E. Friedman Young Engineer Award, 1988.


Organizational Links

• CUREE staff and associates
• Board of Directors
• Member Universities
• Past Presidents
• Bylaws